We’ve all been there before. Whether it’s from pulling an all-nighter or partying too hard, we find ourselves sitting in class the next morning and wondering how to possibly keep our eyes open for the next hour and 43 minutes.

I’ll be the first to admit that on more than one occasion my eyes have failed me, and I’ve completely fallen asleep during class. So much so that one of my classmates in high school used to start taking notes for me as soon as she saw my pen drop (bless her).

Although that arrangement did me well, my lovely classmate and I went to different universities, so I was forced to stay awake on my own. Here’s what I’ve learned:

  1. Bring snacks: Nothing helps keep me awake more than having something to snack on. Recently, I’ve been packing two sandwiches for myself – one for lunch and one for my 8 a.m. class. I think of it as a small reward for the big feat of getting out of bed and paying attention to my professors.  Just be sure to eat slow and make it last all class!
  2. Shower before class: Not only will this make you feel better, but the shower will help wake you up and maintain that energy throughout class
  3. Coffee: That is all.
  4. Fill up your water bottle: Honestly, my snacks don’t usually last all class (despite my efforts). In that case, I turn to my water bottle and chug-a-lug. This wakes you up and gives you something to do.
  5. Bathroom breaks: Sometimes, you just need to get up and walk around. This is the perfect time to take a *quick* bathroom break.
  6. Tug on your earlobes: This one is weird – I know, BUT earlobes are pressure points in your body that are sensitive to touch, so when you tug them it alerts your brain and will help keep you awake. Pretend you’re fiddling with your earring or something.
  7. Chew gum: Again, this will give you something to do and help you focus on what your teacher is saying.
  8. Get involved in the lecture: Challenge yourself to ask at least two questions during the lecture. This way, it’ll force you to pay attention and engage.
  9. Eyedrops: When your eyes are dry it’s hard to keep them open. If this is the case, bring some eyedrops to class and help refresh your eyes.
  10. Cool down: When you’re body temperature is warm, it’s easier to fall asleep. If your class is warm, take off your sweater or open a window to cool down.

On a completely different note: If you’re having trouble falling asleep that night, simply record your teacher’s lecture and play it before bed.

Good luck!

