A variety of sources and doctors have been saying that cold glasses of water throughout the day can provide the same energizing effect as a cup of coffee.

According to Chris Bailey, a blogger who’s dedicated years of his life to exploring productivity (his blog is awesome, definitely give it a read), drink 16oz of water every morning is the best way to stay energized and productive throughout the day.

Bailey says the main reasons for this are the fact that you become dehydrated during your sleep, which will result in grogginess and lack of energy and the fact that drinking water right away in the morning will fire up your metabolism and wake up your whole body.

One article even suggests sparkling water and coconut water will be just fine as replacements for coffee, but I wasn’t so sure.

Now, I wasn’t too convinced with these findings. Is water really an okay alternative? I mean, I wanted to believe it for many reasons, the main being:

  • it would save me a lot of money,
  • it would be healthier,
  • and it save me time from making or buying coffee everyday.

So, with these articles and findings in mind, I decided to do an experiment. For a week I was going to only have water whenever I felt tired. I planned to wake up and drink two big glasses of ice cold water every morning, and if I needed a pick-me-up during the day, I’d have some more ice cold water.

The results?

I lasted two days.

At first I was feeling confident that I could do it, but I found myself getting extremely tired around noon, then I would get my second breath and get exhausted again right after school around 4:00 p.m.

I couldn’t handle not having my eyes open any longer, so on the third day I had coffee at lunch. That being said, I do have to admit that the mornings were okay with just water. It did wake me up (probably the cold more than anything), but it didn’t give me sustainable energy for the day.

Also, ever since the experiment, I’ve continued to drink my two glasses of water each morning (along with a nice cup of coffee), and I’ve been feeling a lot more energized with the two. Coffee dehydrates you, so it’s important to continue drinking water if you’re an addict like me and can’t go more than two days without your caffeine fix. I recommend drinking (*chugging*) two glasses of water each morning, followed by a cup (or two if it’s that kind of day) of coffee. Then, after that, for each additional cup of coffee have another glass or two of water.

I’ve been following that routine since my failure, and I have to say, I feel better and more energized. So, although water may not be a perfect replacement for coffee, it’s defintely a good addition!

cup-791948_1920
Coffee or water? I say both.
