Alright, so here’s the deal: I’m tired.

I work two part-time jobs and go to school full-time, while also trying to maintain my sanity through hangouts with my friends and family. And sometimes, it gets tiring. Actually, most of the time it gets tiring.

Usually, this isn’t that big of a deal. I simply chug back my three or four cups of black coffee a day and try to keep moving. But today I did something completely out of character for my usually tired self. I drank a Red Bull.

I drank a can of Red Bull.

Not only do I avidly despise the taste of energy drinks, especially Red Bull, but I also despise everything about them. They’re unhealthy, they smell fake, and they’re expensive. Whenever
I img_0700saw anyone I know drinking an energy drink, I’d be the first to point out how gross and unhealthy they are. So the fact that I steeped so low in my tired life that I turned to a Red Bull, regardless that it was free, is terrifying.

I have no idea what spurred me to chug back the WHOLE can during class, but I’m worried. Maybe coffee has lost its effect on me? Can people become immune to coffee? I found myself asking these questions, and I realized I needed to do something. I needed to find out better ways to energize myself, especially if energy drinks had become my go to.

With that in mind, I’m dedicating my blog to exploring different ways to energize yourself. Whether it be trying to debunk myths about eating an apple each morning or trying different caffeinated plants like guarana. I don’t think I’m quite ready to divorce coffee just yet (if coffee were a person I’d marry it), but I think we could use some distance.

So if you’re like me, and you find your eyes failing you despite the 4 cups of coffee you’ve consumed, join me and follow my journey as I explore ways to rejuvenate.

