Winnipeg Beach, located 45 minutes north of Winnipeg, is a town with a population of around 1,000 people.

I’ve spent my summers going to my cabin in Ponemah, which is about a five minute drive before Winnipeg Beach. As I get older, it’s harder to find time to spend at the cabin, so it was a delight to have had the opportunity to explore Winnipeg Beach for a school assignment.

Three of my lovely classmates and I spent the day exploring Winnipeg Beach, eating at the local Chinese restaurant, and talking to locals before retreating to my cabin in Ponemah for a quality girls night.

It’s moments like this weekend that remind me how important it is to find time for yourself. Sometimes the thought of going to my cabin for a weekend seems so unrealistic because of the time commitment, but every time I do plan a weekend or night there, I’m reminded how much I love it.

Here are a few photos of our day!

