Dear Facebook,

Because of you I am investing in a new alarm clock.

Typically I rely on my cell phone to wake me up, but I’ve begun to realize that isn’t working anymore.

This morning, after pressing snooze twice for my 6:30 a.m. alarm, I was greeted by a little red Facebook notification. Usually this means someone has messaged me, liked a photo, or mentioned me in a comment, so you can imagine the slight excitement and curiosity that ran through my otherwise half-sleeping self.

I eagerly opened the Facebook app and clicked the red notification button, but suddenly my excitement disappeared. It wasn’t a message, a like, or a comment. In fact, it wasn’t from any of my fellow Facebook friends. It was from you.

You, with your frightening good memory and early-bird rising habits, had a little reminder for me.  You decided to remind me that on this exact day, a year earlier, I was attending a Nelly concert in Sydney, Australia. All of a sudden you were showing photos of my best friends and I enjoying the +30 degrees celsius weather, sipping some chilled white wine, and smiling behind our bronzed skin. IMG_3614

I don’t think you had any ulterior motives to the reminder, and I don’t think you were trying to make fun of us for buying Nelly tickets when we could barely afford food (a decision I haven’t regretted once this past year, FYI). In fact, you probably thought it would be nice to remind me of where I’ve been and what I’ve shared with you.

There’s just one thing wrong with that.

This morning I was not in +30 degrees weather, I was not surrounded by my best friends, I was not sipping chilled white wine, and I was certainly not tanned. I was in quite the opposite state. It was -22 outside, my cat was laying on my face, my tea cup had fallen off my dresser sometime during the night and spilled on my floor, and I was as pale as I ever am (and coming from someone with anemia, that’s pretty pale).

Are you starting to see why my excitement disappeared, Facebook?

The drastic difference between my life today and my life a year ago is not something I was prepared to deal with at 6:30 a.m. today. I hadn’t even had my first cup of coffee yet!

I know, I know. You’re probably thinking “Just turn off my ‘On this day’ notifications then.” But it’s not your reminders that I don’t enjoy, it’s the timing.

During my travels, and my life in Sydney in particular, I rarely woke before 9 a.m. Actually, I’m really just saying 9 a.m. so people don’t judge me, but to be honest I rarely woke
before noon. I was tanned, I was living with two of my best friends, I was drinking wine regularly (it’s Australia guys), and I was doing things like buying Nelly tickets because I could.

These days, I’m usually awake by 6:30 a.m., I go to school or work every day, I rarely see my friends, and I am participating in Dry January (it’s the New Year guys). There’s nothing wrong with my life right now, and I’m happily in this position by my own decision, but it’s not the care-free travelling life I had last year.

And so, although I have no problem with my current life situation, sometimes (at 6:30 a.m. especially), it’s a little depressing to have reminders from last year.

I understand you have many other friends and reminders to give, so I don’t expect you to adjust the timing of mine. But please don’t get upset when I don’t talk to you until noon everyday. I think once I’ve had some coffee, talked to some people, and been up for a couple hours, I’ll be prepared for your entertaining nostalgia.

Until then, I will invest in a new alarm clock and see you tomorrow at noon!

Sincerely,

A currently sedentary traveller

 

 

