I had a lot of time to think over the holidays, and I’ve come to a few realizations:

  1. No matter how much free time I have my room will always be a mess
  2. Grey’s Anatomy will make you cry regardless how many times you’ve seen it
  3. Five Christmas dainties in five minutes isn’t as fun as it sounds
  4. I will never be an accomplished artist

And, with that final realization, I decided to change my blog. This doesn’t mean I haven’t enjoyed experimenting with art, but it does mean I’ve decided to pursue other aspirations. I’m still fascinated by art and the world of creativity, but I don’t think I will become Mrs. Picasso anytime soon.

Instead, I’m dedicating my blog to something I love and am experienced in: travel.

Growing up, I travelled North America extensively and spent time in Costa Rica. More recently, I lived and travelled in Australia for a year, stopping in New Zealand and Hawaii before coming home in August 2015.

At first, I was afraid to start a travel blog because I didn’t want to be one of those people who comes home after living abroad and doesn’t shut up about it. But as time goes by I realize how important that year is, and always will be, to me.

This isn’t going to be your typical travel blog where I advise you on where to go and what to check out, but more a blog about exploring the balance between life and travel. Is there even a balance? Does there need to be? If you’re currently sedimentary are you still considered a traveller?

It’s also going to be a way for me to relive and reminisce on my travels while focusing on school and my career at home. There are so many times when something happens and I’m immediately reminded of a story from my travels, and I would love to share them with you.

With my new blog, I can promise you some interesting perspectives on the work-travel balance, some ridiculous travel stories including wing nights at tattoo parlours and dealing with foreign police, and some genuinely cheesy travel-is-life preaches.

Enjoy!

