So I was going to talk about my experience with crochet this week, but since I am still absolutely hopeless at crocheting I decided it would be better talk about school! The fun part about school that is.

In my advertising class today we created mood boards to visually represent a product and help get our creative juices flowing. What is a mood board you might ask? Basically, it’s a collage.

It’s actually a lot more than a collage, but let’s not get caught up in the details so if you want to learn more about it here is a link to a second, more thorough, blog explaining the exact parameters of mood boards: http://www.creatively-driven.com/the-art-of-the-mood-board/ 🙂

To give a simple answer, a mood board is a combination of words and pictures put together to represent the idea or style of a product/project/anything that needs visual representation. Like I said, a collage!

In advertising or another creative agency, a mood board is meant to give the client an idea of what direction the agency wants to go in with the product, and is meant to represent everything the product is.

I was shocked at how much easier it was to come up with ideas for a specific product once you had a visual representation to look at and pull ideas out of. Instead of staring at my computer screen I was staring at the collage that my group and I made and it gave me a lot more ideas. I’m not saying that my ideas were necessarily amazing ones… but I came up with a lot more than I expected to.

The mood board was helpful for coming up with more ideas, but it was also a lot of fun. You could feel the contentment in the class as we all cut and glued and collaged for the first time in a long time. There was definitely some nostalgia going around.

Turns out there is an abundance of articles and research done into the benefits of collage, and there’s tons! It’s a form of art therapy, communication, stimulation… All sorts of things. It’s definitely a good way for people who need visual inspiration to get creative, and I would definitely tell anyone to try it out to get their creative juices flowing!

Mood boards go hand-in-hand with adult colouring books, and I’m not sure which one I like more… Will do some thorough glue-and-pencil-crayon-filled investigation and get back to you!

Our mood board! Between Flavor Flav, the elderly women, and
Our mood board! I realize that between Flavor Flav, the elderly women, and “The Resurrection” in the bottom corner, it probably makes no sense to you, but strangely enough they were all equally useful in finding ideas.
