Okay so I wasn’t going to blog about Elizabeth Gilbert’s new book, Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear, until I was completely done reading it but I just finished part 3 and feel like it is so so so pertinent to my blog that I want to talk about it right now!!

If you haven’t heard of Elizabeth Gilbert, she’s the author of Eat Pray Love, a travel memoir that was a New York Times bestseller for over 200 weeks and is now a movie starring Julia Roberts.

Not only did she travel the world and write a pretty good memoir, she also very conveniently wrote a book about living a creative life!

Seriously guys, this is so relevant that I couldn’t not talk about it any longer.

Big Magic is separated into six parts, and I was doing really well at not talking about it until I began (and finished with insane speed) the third part. The third part is called Permission, and to sum it up, it’s basically about how anyone can be creative, regardless who they are or what life experience they may have.

THANK YOU, MS. GILBERT.
THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU.

*WARNING: Typically humorous blog gets a little serious and a little personal below, proceed at own discretion*

I know I use a lot of jokes in my blog posts, but I seriously do put a lot of effort into my endeavours and sometimes all I can do is laugh so I don’t give into the occasional nagging feeling to quit. I’m out of my element, and I knew I would be when I started this blog, but I can only use so much humour to dampen the blow of my painfully unartistic self.

*Pleased to announce the serious/personal warning is no longer in place, proceed as per usual*

I don’t care if this book is just another self-help book that fooled me into spending money on it, I honestly genuinely felt better after reading this part.

I also don’t know if it’s the gratitude-hangover from celebrating Thanksgiving this weekend surrounded by incredibly beautiful scenery and an even more incredible family, but I want to scream THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU so many times in Elizabeth Gilbert’s face that she actually has to physically push me away so I will leave that encounter forever changed and increasingly more creative solely from her touch.

Or maybe just one THANK YOU will do.

Probably don’t even need to shout at her, a simple “thank you” might work. 

Just trying to be creative here people.

Anyways, I want to share a little blurb from the book that actually made my heart warm:

“Are you considering becoming a creative person? Too late, you already are one. To even call somebody “a creative person” is almost laughably redundant; creativity is the hallmark of our species. We have the senses for it; we have the curiosity for it; we have the opposable thumbs for it; we have the rhythm for it; we have the language and the excitement and the innate connection to divinity for it.”

Gilbert then goes on to talk about how our ancestors were all incredibly creative people (ex. problem-solvers, embellishers, explorers, fiddlers, storytellers, etc, etc, etc.) and that we are creative by nature.

Do you guys know what this means? This means there is hope! I repeat, there is hope!

K, one more time everyone I swear: THANK YOU, MS. GILBERT!

Yes, maybe I am easily influenced by this one opinion of one woman. Yes, maybe I was digging for something to make me feel better about myself regardless if it’s justified or not. And yes, maybe Gilbert is full of crap and I’m an idiot for absorbing said crap. 

But maybe she isn’t, and maybe I’m not.

Who even cares? I certainly don’t. I am feeling embarrassingly inspired by Gilbert’s book right now and I want to share this feeling with all of you. I want to get this all out so next time I try an artistic endeavour that doesn’t have Mona Lisa results, I can come back and read this post and feel re-inspired and re-thankful and proceed with my quest.

So until then, I will bid you, my fellow creative human beings, farewell and I will continue on my creativity quest with my curiously opposable and rhythmic thumbs… Sayonara friends! 

