“Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up.”
– Pablo Picasso

I’m desperately hoping that Picasso knew what he was talking about, and that it is possible for me to possess an artistic skill… of some sort… deep down inside. I mean, I assume he did know what he was talking about, seeing as he is one of the very few artists I’ve actually heard of before, but I’m still keeping my fingers crossed!

I’m so envious of those who identify themselves as artists and who have the ability to produce something beautiful and captivating. Whether it be through music, paintings, drawings, or theatre performances, artists are so talented at what they do that it actually becomes intimidating for those who have never explored the world of art before. Between the inspiring passion and the amazing skill, I have the utmost respect for all artists.

Growing up, the only thing I was ever remotely passionate about and skilled at was sports. I played basketball and soccer for most of my life and that’s where I ended up investing all of my time and effort. I always identified myself as an athlete, yet often found myself wondering whether or not I had it in me to be an artist. Until recently I had basically accepted the fact that I will never be an artistic person, but now I’m starting to rethink that notion.

The rare moments in my childhood that I did experiment with art were always fun, they just didn’t happen often. It’s been easy for me to attribute my lack of artistic skill as something that I have no control over, but perhaps it’s because I’ve never given the arts a chance. As a child I always focused on sports, and as I’ve gotten older I’ve just never had the time to explore the world of art. Until now. This blog is a perfect way for me to finally set aside some time and give the arts a chance.

I have no idea what the outcome of this new experiment will be, but today is the day I begin my quest for creativity! I am setting out to try a new artistic endeavour every week. I would love for all of you to join me in the laughs, potential success, and more likely defeat, as I embrace the daunting world that is art. If any readers are artists, I would greatly appreciate any helpful hints and ideas for possible artistic endeavours. My email address is shaylynmcmahon@live.ca and I would love to hear from you!

